Fire Emblem Direct Reaction: Nintendo DiWRECKED

Hey guys, did you see that Fire Emblem Nintendo Direct today? WILD, right? Four new upcoming titles – whodathunk? (Not me, I was just expecting two.)

Chances are, if you’re reading this, you’re out of the Fire Emblem loop, but that’s okay. Until very recently, so was I. Before I get into this GENUINE reaction for all the crazy news we got today, I’m gonna give you newbies a quick rundown on what Fire Emblem is.

Part 1: What is Fire Emblem?

Good question. Fire Emblem is a tactical role-playing game franchise published by Nintendo and developed by Intelligent Systems. It currently boasts 14 main series games plus a handful of spinoffs, which is a crazy number for a game franchise that is only just now finding footing in places that aren’t Japan. The first game was released in 1990 and the most recent one, Fates, was released last year. (And it was great.)

Currently, the series is in a bit of a boom right now, which is surprising considering just a few years ago it was basically almost confirmed dead. Quite a few factors have contributed to its sudden popularity, but tl;dr you could probably trace it back to the Smash Bros games, which made the characters playable, thus sparking the interest of overseas Nintendo fans who demanded localized versions of the games.

The games themselves involve running around in a medieval fantasy-esque world of swords and dragons, following a storyline and usually winning a war while recruiting pretty anime waifus and husbandos and directing their movements and actions throughout several battles. In addition, the older games had a permadeath feature – that is, if your characters die on the battlefield, they’re gone forever and don’t respawn. In the newest two titles, this is an optional game mode.

If you pair these characters off often on the battlefield, they get stat bonuses. If they fight together enough, you can unlock conversations between them. In the older games, the endgame of these conversations varied from pair to pair, but in the most recent games you can get characters married and recruit their kids. (This is explained and makes sense in-game sometimes… sometimes it’s not. It’s okay, though, the kids are one of my favorite parts of the game.) You can also have your player character get married and have kids.

No, that’s not weird.

It’s a really great series, and if you’re so inclined, I highly recommend it. If you’re looking for a good game to start out with, I suggest Awakening for the 3DS… it introduces the mechanics really well and isn’t too terribly difficult. Plus, a solid story line. The newest game, Fates, is really good too, I just don’t know if it’s the best pick for a newcomer, since its two branching story lines gives you the option of either “punishingly difficult with a great story” or “way too easy with a dumb story”.

Part 2: Cool, Now What’s New?

WHAT’S NEW, YOU ASK.

Well, a lot.

In today’s Nintendo Direct, Yuri Lowentha-I mean, uh, Nintendo, announced four upcoming Fire Emblem titles. FOUR! For a series that was dying a mere six years ago, that’s kind of impressive.

I’m gonna go in order of their announcement, and provide my reactions.

First on the ticket – Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia, a remake of Fire Emblem: Gaiden, the second ever main series game.

fire_emblem_echoes_shadows_of_valentia

Real talk – I’m not too familiar with any of the Fire Emblem titles before Awakening… but honestly, even though I’ve never played the game Echoes is a remake of, I cannot deny that this looks stunning. The character designs have a modern Fire Emblem quality while also retaining a very classic look. I’m a big fan.

Because I’ve never played the original, I don’t know exactly how this game differs from the others, but from the trailer and from what I’ve heard, it has a free-roaming dungeon element that sounds super cool. Plus, from the game footage it looks like it’s going to retain the same top-down tactics mode that I love so much, just with some fun twists that I’m looking forward to playing around with. All in all, I’ll definitely pick this game up. I’ve been sort of meaning to familiarize myself with the older games anyway…

Secondly, and most mysteriously, we have the currently unnamed Fire Emblem game for the Switch. We know nothing about it except that it’s probably coming sometime in 2018, but I was honestly so shocked to get a confirmed main series game so soon after Fates that I don’t even need any more info. Plus! I’m already very excited for the Switch, and this just furthers my resolve to get one once it comes out. Cheers to future blog posts about this game to come, once we get more info.

Thirdly, we have Fire Emblem Warriors.

fire-emblem-warriors-chrom

And you know what? I was a little disappointed. Yeah, okay, it was nice to see Chrom again, (Hi Chrom. I’m sorry you didn’t get to be in Smash. Congrats on the new game though!) but I was sort of hoping we’d get confirmation of other characters that would be playable, but nooope! Just Chrom. It’s cool. This series owns me, so I’ll probably end up getting it, just, please, please put Owain in it. Oh my GOSH he’d be so GOOD for this kind of hack n’ slash game oh PLEASE.

tumblr_n822dazbcv1s94qg1o1_500

I mean, just look at him. He’s ready.

And finally, the thing I’m most short-term pumped about, Fire Emblem Heroes.

mobile_fireemblemheroes_illustration_03

Guys, are you seeing this? With your own two eyes? Look at this. I am dying to get my hands on this.

They announced they were going to do a Fire Emblem mobile game a while back, and I kind of shrugged and said “Oh well at least they’re paying attention to this franchise,” but I was NOT prepared to get this.

New art for all the characters? New VOICE ACTING for all the characters? A HUGE roster of characters, both old and new? These STUNNING new character designs, plus the fact you have to basically Love Live-style scout to get them? I’m gonna get wrecked by this game, guys. And it’s coming out SO SOON! February 2nd… I’M SO EXCITED.

And it’s coming out for both Android phones and iPhones, and if Pokemon Go is any indication, this means LOTS of new fans are going to be able to experience this game series for the first time via this free app! That’s majorly exciting. I am so excited. I’m dragging all of my friends into Fire Emblem hell with me, they better get ready.

The way they adapted the classic gameplay for mobile looks attractive and makes sense. I love the cute little chibi sprites for the map view. I love the full body art during the criticals. UGH. I was not expecting to be so floored, and yet here I am, on the floor. Dying.

PLUS, they’re holding this huge event to vote for which two characters are going to get special appearances in the game and… here’s where I begin my campaign.

If you’re so inclined, click here to vote among basically every character in the Fire Emblem series. They’re organized by game. If you really love me, you’ll click “Choose by Game Title”, click the left arrow to scroll to “Fates”, and then choose “Silas”… this is what he looks like:

Silas.PNG

Now I’m not here to tell you what to do, but Silas here is my most favorite character. I’ve been low key planning to do a post all about why he’s great. In fact, considering all the crazy news we’ve gotten, I think that blog post might come sooner rather than later. Sparing you the details, he is highly underappreciated and I would cry many tears if he won.

So if you want to… maybe vote for him? I will give you many thanks. Many internet and/or real life hugs, if you want. Or vote for whoever. I’m not here to make your life decisions for you.

(…But please?)

Part 3: Oh My GOD You’ve Written Over 1000 Words Already Are You DONE???

Yes! Actually. Thank you for reading. I usually only post on Sundays, but this was too much for me to keep locked inside. I’m sure this won’t be the last I’ll say on… any of these games, honestly. Keep your eyes peeled for more to come!

One thought on “Fire Emblem Direct Reaction: Nintendo DiWRECKED

  1. Great post! I’m so excited for all of this! I’m really glad that the series has become so popular. I was worried that people would ignore it after the GCN games didn’t do too hot. I’m really excited for Echoes this May!

    Like

Leave a Reply

